Smells

I went jogging this morning – I try and go every day but it doesn’t always work out – and I could have sworn I caught a whiff of Autumn in the air. It was that cool, musky smell that makes me think of my school days and days gone by, of yellowing leaves on the trees and the topsoil of fields blowing about. There was a distinct autumnul hint to the breeze as I closed my eyes and felt it on my face. I smiled. Because I love Autumn most. I’m a natural melancholic kinda guy and for me Autumn is a time of change, a time when we feel for the days that have past, a nostalgic yearning and at the same time Autumn is a beautiful colourful month – reds, yellows, browns, greens and golden boughs. Poland, for all its myths, problems and complexes of petty power, is the most beautiful country when Autumn gently glides through the countryside.

Leave a Reply

