Losers

Poles, the Polish nation or Polish people are perennial under-achievers. I draw these conclusions from objective observations and personal experience (I’m kinda Polish myself). They talk up a whirlwind but when it comes down to the nitty-gritty they always under-achieve. For a country of almost 40 million inhabitants with another few million living outside its borders, its amazing that the Poles haven’t achieved more with regards to culture, art, literature, sport and science. It boggles me, it really does. They talk about solidarity but on a daily basis, Polish people are probably the most unhelpful and un-solidarity-like people I could think of. Unfortunately, there is little sense of community in Poland and this is one thing that successive governments always seem to ignore. Community is the key.

6 Responses to Losers

  1. MG says:

    What a simplistic and downright false conclusion.

    What are the so-called objective observations you base this conclusion on?

    You speak on behalf of an entire nation but are ignorant of Poland’s legacy. Just to name a few, Poland launched the first consitution in Europe and the second in the world and is the home-country of Chopin, Curie, Kopernicus, Kubica, Sobieski, John-Paul II…

    As to solidarity, who do you think threw over totalitarian communism if not the Solidarnosc movement and the uniting powers of the Church.

  2. Raf Uzar says:

    MG,
    Many thanks for the comments. However, if you have the time to read the blog and the more recent posts you’ll see that I do laud Poland, Poles and Polishness. More importantly, I try to do it with a twinkle in my eye. It’s a lot easier I think if we all don’t take ourselves so seriously. By the way, see what you think of this post:
    https://uzar.wordpress.com/2007/08/02/in-honour-of-defeatism/

  3. Dinolaure says:

    My understanding about your “underachievement feeling” is that survival reveal to be time and energy consuming… and that achievements and artistics realizations are not so small. Just live and forget complexes !

  4. Raf Uzar says:

    You’re probably right. 🙂

  5. DC says:

    Raf – I think you are onto something, but I see it differently. My perspective is as a first generation Polish-American and my theory isn’t fully-formed. Basically, compared to other countries and cultures which get “better press,” I believe Poles are far less obsessed with self-promotion. I find this refreshing and one of the reasons I treasure my connection to Poland. But this means Polish achievement goes under-recognized sometimes.

    Yes, some Poles (and Polish-Americans) can “talk up a whirlwind” but it more often seems like a means to avoid dealing with stuff, rather than a compulsion to boost one’s ego. This kind of correlates to Scatt’s post:

    http://polandian.home.pl/index.php/2008/07/07/problem-analysis/

    Yes, community is the key. I expect to see improvements in this, especially as Poles become more affluent and start to demand better of their government and themselves. Anyway, that’s my theory.

Leave a Reply

