Fingernails

fingernails.jpgA woman of my own heart. Two fingernails – important cultural icons (whether we like them or not) together in unison – George W. Bush and Lech Wałęsa, finger-by-finger. Heart-warming, isn’t it? Actually, when I saw this photo I was neither suprised or shocked because for years I used to keep a small picture of Lech Wałęsa in my wallet together with a picture of General Wojciech Jaruzelski (Wałęsa’s political nemesis and President of Communist Poland). I would explain to people that they are constantly in a state of war and the battle for good and evil is being conducted inside my wallet. I would wake in the middle of the night and hear muffled cries of “freedom!” or “There is only one real system!” and would have to stroke my wallet for a few minutes for the crying to subside. Wałęsa is no longer a political heavyweight, neither is Jaruzelski and George W’s day’s are most certainly numbered. Who will be the next representative of good? Who will take the devil’s mantle?

Comments are closed.

