Moose on the Loose

Moose

It’s amazing what a week’s holiday can do for the mind, body and soul. Not to mention one’s perspective on the things that are happening in the world at large. After spending a week away from Poland the first piece of Polish news I hear (or rather, the first piece of news that is anywhere remotely interesting) was the astonishing fact that a moose had spent much of Monday (yesterday) morning running around the streets of Warsaw. Apparently, the poor fellow had been frightened out of Kampinos forest by herds of weekend tourists wanting to breathe in the fresh forest air.

Anesthetised Public
The reason why this piece of news made the headlines is two-fold. First of all, we’re in the media silly season where all manner of rubbish hits the headlines due to the simple fact that there’s nothing much else going on. However there is a lot going on at the moment in Polish politics. Too much. This leads me to believe that the Polish media (and almost certainly Joe Public, i.e. ‘Jan Kowalski’) has become ambivalent, desensitised and downright fed up with the ever-growing chaotic maelstrom of Polish politics.

Biggest Megaphone
Poland’s political elite class has degenerated into a bickering gaggle of washerwomen content only on out-shouting each other. Water-tight argumentation, mental dexterity and lexical prowess have been replaced by public slanging matches, coalition in-fighting and below-the-belt calumny. It’s ugly, it’s petty and a complete waste of time. The news that Law and Justice (PiS) has been using state departments (and underhand techniques) to dredge up ‘dirt’ on opposition politicians no longer comes as a surprise to anyone anymore. The era of the Moose is upon us…

13 Responses to Moose on the Loose

  1. opit says:

    One of the silly comments used in B.C. to get rid of an annoying fellow is “Go kiss a Moose”. It might have been easier lately !

  2. rafuzar says:

    Nice one!🙂

  3. rafuzar says:

    By the way, Olde Phart, I regularly ‘glance’ at your blog – really like it!

  4. island1 says:

    Anybody remember the tiger that got loose in Warsaw back in 2000. The police opened fire on it with AK47s and managed to mow down a vet who was trying to tranquilize the beast. This was a few days after I first arrived in Poland. Certainly made me wonder if I’d made a sensible move coming here!

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/677492.stm

  5. Raf Uzar says:

    Welcome to Poland!

  6. opit says:

    Odd. Comments didn’t fire me back here before now.
    Nice you’re finding it useful. I really have to scratch my head. Traffic-wise, I do a fraction of Tammy at BGRS. Mostly, I don’t get comments ; likely because I’m really pushing a service, not a person. But do people ever link!

  7. Raf Uzar says:

    Service, person… isn’t it all the same?

  8. opit says:

    Not at all. Service would be what a weblog covers : technology information, politics, articles of specific or general interest. What people want with my blog has to do with the nature of the content – which is impersonal in most cases.
    Going in the door I targeted people with poor connections who didn’t know much about the web and had trouble finding their way around. People like me as I was then.
    But many blogs are not updated that often. They serve as a convenient address for conversation. Some of the most prolific bloggers hop around other sites. I was in on the back-and-forth at Ezra Klein ( he was at Pandagon when I first started reading him ) and at Kevin Drum’s Political Animal. That place is a free-for-all : it was getting so nuts a human has to moderate comments.
    Others are personal accounts. The first commenter I had in December 2005 took down his site twice! Many wonderful stories about the stage ( he was an actor ) were lost when that was done.
    Others share photography and interests. Flickr is, of course, the nexus where hobbyists share shots and info. It’s no longer a journal – but a service and shared application.
    But it’s impersonal. If a person wants to talk, chat rooms would seem to make more sense. Oddly enough, I’ve never used them.

  9. Raf Uzar says:

    I was of course joking and I do, of course, agree with you. My blog started up as a personal diary of sorts (read the first few posts – very personal and very boring). I have since shifted towards a more political commentary on things occurring in Poland. This slant, I feel, is much more popular and as such I have started up a small news service which is maintained by a group of avid (and very eager) translators: http//newzar.worpdress.com/

    What I find interesting about the internet and the various meta-media and sub-media to be found in the ether is that people born into this world have no problem appropriating and using these new tools whereas people like me (of the older ‘transition’ generation) spend much of their time trying to get to grips with what the hell is actually going on in the virtual world.

    Blogging and virtual communities and one of the greatest things to ‘hit’ mankind and I find it SO refreshing that the next generation takes it as a given and something which is normal. Don’t you just love the fact that we can share? Still, I think there’s always room for opinion and information. Also, isn’t information a form on opinion. As a linguist, I’d go so far to suggest that all information is biased and opinionated even though it may not be overt.

    By the way, I found the #“Shock Doctrine” applied to Autistic and Retarded Kids# article fascinating! Always a pleasure reading your stuff.

  10. opit says:

    “Shock Doctrine” took me back to the 60’s and abuses of shock therapy on mental patients. It really made a mockery of the idea of science being more ‘progressive’ than the practise of witch doctors. Even lately it has been used as a substitute for medication to fight depression.
    A little off-topic ; an old novel on mental illness which made quite an ompression when I was young. The Three Faces of Eve was one of those Reader’s Digest Condensed Books – one of the first treatments on multiple personality.
    I quite agree about it being wild to be able to exchange views like this.
    In the sixties a neighbour’s son moved from Eastern Canada to Australia. A forty minute telephone call home required two operators on the line the whole time and cost about $170 Cdn – which was a bargain ! Now long distance means little : and it’s much more reliable than what the old Amateur Radio services ( HAM ) were able to do.
    I’m afraid I’m another person speaking one language : which is much more common in North America.I had a young woman from Chile sit next to me on a flight a few years ago who needed some help en route. I couldn’t find a Spanish-speaker in Halifax airport, which seemed rather shocking, as it isn’t that backwater a place.
    BGRS had that widget on her site for difficulty understanding a blog. She and I both came in with genius-level context. If we can’t be understandable, we have to respect those who wade through our work !

  11. opit says:

    Looking over your comment again, I’m reminded of something I learned in sales. You don’t have to lie to bend the truth : just omit some facts.
    Ali Eteraz had a personal weblog – wildly popular – which he decided to team with a political blog so as to differentiate writing. That happens differently at Bastard Logic, where Matt also writes for hm, Left of Center? Then there’s Catherine Morgan, who has an individual solution to her ideas with many sites.
    The youngsters may be doing the pioneering, but I’m thinking newcomers online will find our stuff less distracting because of fewer ‘toys’ onsite : and perhaps also fewer words not used offline.

  12. Raf Uzar says:

    Olde Phart… sorry for the delay. Christmas, I think it’s called.🙂
    As to your last comments about ‘fewer toys’. Perhaps. Simplicity is, of course, the key.

Leave a Reply

